The Boss

Recently I worked with a very nice young couple. The husband worked for a school district and the wife stayed at home with the children. There was one moment when the two were separated and I had questions. I saw the husband first, so I asked him my question. His response was, “I don’t know. You’ll have to ask the boss.” Now, I feel a few ways about this. On the one hand, it’s good he conceded to her in this decision because the item was for her. On the other hand, she isn’t the boss.
I am an old school girl that believes in traditional gender roles. I believe the woman should have dominion over her domain and there are many things the husband should go to her for, because it is under her jurisdiction. My problem is with the word “boss.” Marriage should be a team effort. Neither can do what needs to be done without the other. No one should be the “‘boss” because the two are equal. If anyone is the boss, it’s God. This is something I have seen a lot and my concern is that it emasculates men.
Men have authority, too. One of the issues I have with our modern culture is that men stay boys and women become men. Why can’t we be women? Why are we constantly pushing to be something we aren’t? I don’t really have an answer for this but it is sad to be when I see many couples not conforming to tradition. I’m not against progress, women should have equal opportunities. But our species has continued through time with women caring for the home and men being responsible for protecting and providing. I see a failing species in the modern feminist movement and I hope we stop referring to the other as “the boss.”

 

I’d love to hear your opinions on this topic, so please comment below. Also, subscribe because tomorrow will be a YouTube video asking the question, “Is God real?” Thanks for stopping by, and have a sparkly day!
Leave a Reply

